The Weatherbys Hamilton
Stayers’ Million

Following the extraordinary exploits of Stradivarius last year, we are delighted to announce that the Weatherbys Hamilton Stayers’ Million (WHSM) is back for 2019 and looking to bring even more attention and excitement to the Stayers’ division.

On his way to scooping the £1 Million prize in 2018, Bjorn Nielsen’s son of Sea The Stars achieved something remarkable and shone the brightest of lights on the merits of the Stayers with his courage, durability and will to win.

From the outset, our key objective has been to celebrate, support and promote the staying horse – an animal that has defined the European thoroughbred for the last three hundred years. In 2018 it achieved all of these objectives and more.

Stay up to date with the latest Stayers' Million news and follow the progress of all of the Stayers.

Aiming to eclipse the success of WHSM 2018

Building on the success, the 2019 WHSM has been further enhanced with the introduction of four qualifying races in Dubai, Germany, France and Ireland to supplement the four British qualifiers which remain as last year.

Consequently, this means that the WHSM will be awarded to the connections of a horse that first wins one or more of eight elite staying races staged between March and May:

  • Dubai Gold Cup sponsored by Al Tayer Motors (Dubai) – March 30th
  • Vintage Crop Stakes (Navan) – April 28th
  • Longines Sagaro Stakes (Ascot) – May 1st
  • Boodles Diamond Ormonde Stakes (Chester) – May 9th
  • Comer Group International Oleander-Rennen (Berlin-Hoppegarten) – May 12th
  • Yorkshire Cup (York) – May 17th
  • Matchbook Henry II Stakes (Sandown Park) – May 23rd
  • Prix Vicomtesse Vigier (ParisLongchamp) – May 26th

If one of these horses can then go on, as Stradivarius did so memorably last year, to win the Gold Cup at Royal Ascot (June 20th), the Qatar Goodwood Cup at the Qatar Goodwood Festival (July 30th) and the Weatherbys Hamilton Lonsdale Cup at York’s Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival (August 23rd), its connections will win the £1 million prize.

As in 2018, the £1 million will be split between the connections of the successful horse, with 70% awarded to the owner and 30% divided equally between the trainer, stable staff, breeder and jockey.